Brewers reliever Devin Williams takes NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Devin Williams (Courtesy Matt Stein/Brewers)

Brewers right-hander Devin Williams is the seventh relief pitcher to win the NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year award and the first to do so without recording a save in his winning season.

Other relievers honored were Joe Black, Butch Metzger, Steve Howe, Todd Worrell, Scott Williamson and Craig Kimbrel. There have been five relief-pitcher winners in the American League.

Williams is the third Brewers player to win the award. The others were Ryan Braun in the NL in 2007 and Pat Listach in the AL in 1992. Milwaukee shifted to the NL in 1998. The Braves did not have a Rookie of the Year winner during their 13 seasons in Milwaukee (1953-65).

This is the fourth time in NL Rookie voting that two players tied for second place. It also occurred in 1964 with Rico Carty and Jim Ray Hart, in 1969 with Coco Loboy and Al Oliver and in 1997 with Livan Hernandez and Matt Morris.

No player was named on every ballot.

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers representing each league city. They are tabulated on a system that awards five points for first place, three points for second place, one point for third place.

2020 NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Devin Williams, Brewers 146795
Alec Bohm, Phillies98574
Jake Cronenworth, Padres612874
Tony Gonsolin, Dodgers11311
Dustin May, Dodgers228
Ke'Bryan Hayes, Pirates125
Andres Gimenez, Mets 11
Sixto Sanchez, Marlins 11
Ian Anderson, Braves 11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

JJ CooperBaseball AmericaATLGonsolinWilliamsBohm
David O'BrienThe AthleticATLWilliamsBohmCronenworth
Jack MagruderField Level MediaAZBohmMayWilliams
David VennMLB.comAZCronenworthBohmSanchez
Katsushi NagaoKyodo NewsCHICronenworthBohmWilliams
Eugene McIntoshThe Bigs MediaCHIBohmCronenworthWilliams
Hal McCoyAt LargeCINWilliamsBohmCronenworth
Joe KayThe Associated PressCINCronenworthWilliamsGonsolin
Manny RandhawaMLB.comCOLWilliamsCronenworthBohm
Kyle NewmanThe Denver PostCOLWilliamsCronenworthMay
Christina KahrlESPN.comLAWilliamsHayesCronenworth
Jim AlexanderSouthern California News GroupLACronenworthWilliamsGonsolin
Steve WineAssociated PressMIABohmCronenworthWilliams
Manny NavarroThe AthleticMIACronenworthBohmWilliams
Tom HaudricourtMilwaukee Journal SentinelMILBohmCronenworthWilliams
Andrew WagnerWisconsin State JournalMILBohmWilliamsCronenworth
Deesha ThosarNY Daily NewsNYWilliamsCronenworthGimenez
Justin ToscanoThe Record/NorthJersey.comNYWilliamsCronenworthBohm
Jack McCafferyDelaware County Daily TimesPHIBohmWilliamsAnderson
Scott LauberPhiladelphia InquirerPHIWilliamsBohmCronenworth
Will GravesAssociated PressPITWilliamsCronenworthHayes
Dejan KovacevicDKPittsburghSports.comPITBohmGonsolinHayes
Kyle GlaserBaseball AmericaSDBohmMayCronenworth
John MaffeiSan Diego Union TribuneSDBohmCronenworthWilliams
John SheaSan Francisco ChronicleSFCronenworthWilliamsBohm
Daniel BrownThe AthleticSFWilliamsCronenworthBohm
Jeff JonesBelleville News-DemocratSTLWilliamsCronenworthGonsolin
Benjamin HochmanSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTLWilliamsCronenworthMay
Ken RosenthalThe AthleticWASWilliamsBohmCronenworth
Gabe LacquesUSA TodayWASWilliamsBohmCronenworth