Marlins’ Sandy Alcantara rolls to unanimous victory in Cy Young race

Courtesy Miami Marlins

Marlins’ right-hander Sandy Alcantara won the National League Cy Young Award unanimously, the 15th time a pitcher in the NL has swept the voting.

Alcantara joins a list featuring Sandy Koufax three times (1963, ‘65-66), Greg Maddux twice (1994-95) and once each by Clayton Kershaw (2014), Roy Halladay (2010), Jake Peavy (2007), Randy Johnson (2002), Orel Hershiser (1988), Dwight Gooden (1985), Rick Sutcliffe (1984), Steve Carlton (1972) and Bob Gibson (1968). 

The American League has had a unanimous winner 11 times: Roger Clemens, Pedro Martinez, Johan Santana and Justin Verlander twice each; Denny McLain, Ron Guidry and Shane Bieber once apiece.

This is the first Cy Young Award for a pitcher from the Marlins, who entered the National League as an expansion team in 1993.

Alcantara, the only pitcher listed on every ballot, is only the second pitcher born in the Dominican Republic to win the NL award The other was Pedro Martinez in 1997. Martinez also won twice in the AL, in 1999 and 2000. The only other Dominican-born winner in the AL was Bartolo Colon in 2005.

Alcantara is the first Cy Young winner from the Marlins. Marlins pitchers who were runners-up in the voting previously were Kevin Brown in 1996 and Dontrelle Willis in 2005.

Ballots from two writers in each National League city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards seven points for first place, four points for second place, three points for third place, two votes for fourth place and one point for fifth place.

2022 NL Cy Young

Sandy Alcantara, Marlins30210
Max Fried, Braves1075172
Julio Urias, Dodgers795166
Aaron Nola, Phillies564248
Zac Gallen, Diamondbacks356645
Carlos Rodon, Giants314730
Corbin Burnes, Brewers121820
Yu Darvish, Padres317
Edwin Diaz, Mets126
Kyle Wright, Braves113
Logan Webb, Giants12
Ryan Helsley, Cardinals11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Mark BowmanMLB.comATLAlcantaraFriedGallenUriasRodon
Maria TorresThe AthleticATLAlcantaraNolaBurnesDarvishGallen
Steve GilbertMLB.comAZAlcantaraFriedGallenUriasRodon
David BrandtThe Associated PressAZAlcantaraBurnesNolaRodonGallen
Meghan MontemurroThe Chicago TribuneCHIAlcantaraNolaRodonFriedBurnes
Sahadev SharmaThe AthleticCHIAlcantaraNolaFriedRodonBurnes
Mark SheldonMLB.comCINAlcantaraRodonUriasFriedGallen
Charlie GoldsmithCincinnati EnquirerCINAlcantaraGallenUriasFriedBurnes
Thomas L HardingMLB.comCOLAlcantaraNolaFriedGallenRodon
Jack EtkinAt LargeCOLAlcantaraFriedNolaGallenBurnes
J.P. HoornstraSouthern California News GroupLAAlcantaraUriasNolaBurnesRodon
Juan ToribioMLB.comLAAlcantaraUriasGallenFriedRodon
Christina De NicolaMLB.comMIAAlcantaraFriedNolaRodonUrias
Jorge EbroEl Nuevo HeraldMIAAlcantaraFriedNolaUriasBurnes
Curt HoggMilwaukee Journal SentinelMILAlcantaraRodonUriasNolaBurnes
Mark FeinsandMLB.comNYAlcantaraUriasFriedGallenBurnes
Mike PumaNew York PostNYAlcantaraFriedUriasNolaDiaz
Ryan FaganThe Sporting News*PHIAlcantaraRodonGallenFriedNola
Jayson StarkThe AthleticPHIAlcantaraGallenUriasRodonNola
Alex StumpfDK Pittsburgh SportsPITAlcantaraUriasFriedNolaGallen
John PerrottoUSA TODAYPITAlcantaraFriedUriasWebbWright
AJ CassavellMLB.comSDAlcantaraFriedUriasNolaGallen
Scott MillerAt LargeSDAlcantaraUriasFriedGallenDarvish
Andrew BaggarlyThe AthleticSFAlcantaraGallenFriedDarvishBurnes
Susan SlusserSan Francisco ChronicleSFAlcantaraFriedNolaUriasRodon
John R DentonMLB.comSTLAlcantaraDiazUriasWrightHelsley
Rob RainsSTLSportsPage.comSTLAlcantaraNolaUriasDarvishGallen
Jessica CameratoMLB.comWASAlcantaraUriasBurnesGallenFried
Timothy B. KurkjianESPNWASAlcantaraUriasFriedGallenRodon

* Voter filling spot outside his/her home chapter.