Mets’ Buck Showalter wins Manager of the Year for the fourth time, with four different teams

Courtesy Marc Levine/New York Mets

Mets’ manager Buck Showalter won the National League Manager of the Year, the first time he’d won in the NL after winning three times in the American League.

His previous victories were in 1994 with the Yankees, in 2004 with the Rangers and in 2014 with the Orioles.

Showalter tied one record and established another. Showalter joined Bobby Cox and Tony La Russa as the only four-time winners of the award. Cox won in the AL with the Blue Jays in 1985 and in the NL with the Braves in 1991, 2004 and 2005. La Russa won in the AL with the White Sox in 1983, with the A’s in 1988 and 1992 and in the NL with the Cardinals in 2002.

Showalter’s victory for a fourth different club broke the tie he had shared with La Russa. It also marked the first victory for a Mets manager since the BBWAA started voting in 1983. Runners-up in the voting for the Mets were Davey Johnson in 1984 and 1986 and Willie Randolph in 2006.

No manager was named on every ballot.

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers representing each league city. They are tabulated on a system that awards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2022 NL Manager of the Year

Buck Showalter, Mets810777
Dave Roberts, Dodgers84557
Brian Snitker, Braves75555
Oliver Marmol, Cardinals54744
Rob Thomson, Phillies27536
Bob Melvin, Padres11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

George HenryAssociated PressATLSnitkerShowalterMarmol
JJ CooperBaseball AmericaATLRobertsThomsonSnitker
Jack MagruderAt LargeAZShowalterSnitkerMarmol
Barry M BloomSporticoAZRobertsSnitkerShowalter
Tony AndrackiMarquee Sports NetworkCHISnitkerShowalterRoberts
Paul SullianChicago TribuneCHISnitkerThomsonShowalter
Mitch StacyAssociated PressCINRobertsThomsonSnitker
Hal McCoyDayton Daily News/HalMcCoy.comCINShowalterMarmolRoberts
Nick GrokeThe AthleticCOLShowalterRobertsSnitker
Danielle AllentuckDenver GazetteCOLMarmolThomsonShowalter
Eric StephenSB NationLARobertsSnitkerShowalter
Joe ReedyAssociated PressLARobertsMarmolShowalter
Enrique RojasESPN DeportesMIAMarmolShowalterRoberts
Andre FernandezThe Miami HeraldMIASnitkerMarmolRoberts
Steve MegargeeAssociated PressMILMarmolShowalterThomson
Robert MurrayFanSidedMILMarmolShowalterThomson
Tim BrittonThe AthleticNYShowalterThomsonSnitker
Andrew TredinnickBergen RecordNYShowalterRobertsThomson
Alex CoffeyPhiladelphia InquirerPHIThomsonShowalterRoberts
Mike McGarryPress of Atlantic CityPHISnitkerShowalterMarmol
Stephen J. NesbittThe AthleticPITShowalterRobertsMarmol
Will GravesAssociated PressPITShowalterThomsonMarmol
Bernie WilsonAssociated PressSDRobertsSnitkerShowalter
Jeff SandersSan Diego Union-TribuneSDSnitkerRobertsMelvin
Chris HaftSan Francisco ExaminerSFSnitkerShowalterThomson
Danny EmermanKNBR.comSFRobertsThomsonMarmol
Katie WooThe AthleticSTLMarmolShowalterSnitker
Ben FredericksonSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTLShowalterMarmolThomson
Gabe LacquesUSA TodayWASRobertsSnitkerShowalter
Howard FendrichThe Associated PressWASThomsonShowalterMarmol