2020 AL

Former Rookie of the Year José Abreu adds the AL MVP

Chicago White Sox first baseman José Abreu is the 10th former AL Rookie of the Year Award winner (2014) to go on to win an MVP Award. The others were Fred Lynn in 1975 and Ichiro Suzuki in 2001, the only players to win both awards in the same season….

Indians’ Shane Bieber unanimously wins AL Cy Young

Cleveland Indians right-hander Shane Bieber was unanimously selected as the American League Cy Young winner. It marked the 10th time an AL pitcher has been a unanimous choice for the award. Three pitchers were unanimous selections twice – Johan Santana with the Twins in 2004 and 2006, Pedro Martinez with…

Rays’ Kevin Cash honored as AL’s top manager

Tampa Bay Rays manager Kevin Cash was named American League manager of the year, after finishing in third place in each of the previous two years.  This is the third time a Tampa Bay manager has been honored. Joe Maddon won the award while with the Rays in 2008 and…