Cubs’ Jake Arrieta wins 2015 NL Cy Young

Jake Arrieta was the fifth Cubs pitcher honored. The others: Ferguson Jenkins, Bruce Sutter, Rick Sutcliffe and Greg Maddux.

Greinke and Kershaw were the eighth set of teammates to place second and third in the balloting. The others: Jack Sanford and Billy Pierce with the San Francisco Giants in 1962, Joe Niekro and J.R. Richard with the Houston Astros in 1979, Maddux and Denny Neagle with the Atlanta Braves in 1997, Trevor Hoffman and Kevin Brown with the San Diego Padres in 1998, Tom Glavine and Maddux with the Braves in 2000, Chris Carpenter and Adam Wainwright with the St. Louis Cardinals in 2009 and Roy Halladay and Cliff Lee with the Philadelphia Phillies in 2011. Like Greinke and Kershaw, Glavine and Maddux in 2000 and Halladay and Lee in 2011 were former Cy Young Award winners.

Arrieta, Greinke and Kershaw were the only pitchers listed on every ballot.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that awards seven points for first place, four points for second place, three points for third place, two votes for fourth place and one point for fifth place.

2015 NL Cy Young

Pitcher, Team1st2nd3rd4th5thPoints
Jake Arrieta, Cubs17112169
Zack Greinke, Dodgers10173147
Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers322311101
Gerrit Cole, Pirates213840
Max Scherzer, Nationals13632
Madison Bumgarner, Giants168
Jacob deGrom, Mets237
Mark Melancon, Pirates55
John Lackey, Cardinals11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. Note that in some cases (*), when a city does not have enough eligible voters, a voter from another city represents that chapter. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Ryan FaganSporting NewsATLGreinkeArrietaKershawScherzerCole
Dave CameronFanGraphsATL*ArrietaKershawGreinkeScherzerBumgarner
Jack MagruderFox Sports ArizonaAZGreinkeArrietaKershawColeScherzer
Zach BuchananArizona RepublicAZArrietaGreinkeKershawScherzerCole
Mark GonzalesChicago TribuneCHIArrietaGreinkeKershawColeScherzer
Jesse RogersESPN ChicagoCHIArrietaGreinkeKershawColeMelancon
C. Trent RosecransCincinnati EnquirerCINArrietaGreinkeKershawScherzerCole
Hal McCoyDayton Daily News/FoxSportsOhioCINArrietaGreinkeColeBumgarnerKershaw
Nick GrokeThe Denver PostCOLKershawGreinkeArrietaScherzerCole
Barney HutchinsonHonoraryCOLGreinkeArrietaKershawColeBumgarner
Jeff MillerOrange County RegisterLAArrietaGreinkeKershawColeMelancon
Bill PlunkettOrange County RegisterLAGreinkeArrietaKershawdeGromScherzer
Manny NavarroThe Miami HeraldMIAGrienkeArrietaColeKershawdeGrom
Jon HeymanCBSSports.comMIAGreinkeArrietaKershawScherzerCole
Drew OlsonMilwaukeeMILArrietaGreinkeKershawScherzerCole
Bob KlapischBergen RecordMIL*GreinkeArrietaKershawdeGromScherzer
John HarperNY Daily NewsNYArrietaGreinkeKershawColedeGrom
Adam RubinESPNNYArrietaGreinkeKershawColedeGrom
Meghan MontemurroThe (Wilmington) News JournalPHIArrietaGreinkeKershawScherzerCole
Ryan LawrencePhiladelphia Daily NewsPHIKershawGreinkeArrietaScherzerBumgarner
Travis SawchikPittsburgh Tribune-ReviewPITArrietaGrenkieKershawScherzerCole
John PerrottoUSA TODAYPITGreinkeArrietaKershawColeMelancon
Bernie WilsonAssociated PressSDArrietaGreinkeKershawColeMelancon
JOHN J MAFFEISan Diego Union-TribuneSDArrietaGreinkeKershawColeMelancon
John SheaSan Francisco ChronicleSFArrietaGreinkeKershawScherzerBumgarner
Andrew BaggarlySan Jose Mercury NewsSFKershawArrietaGreinkeScherzerBumgarner
Joe StraussSt. Louis Post DispatchSTLGreinkeArrietaKershawColeScherzer
Bernie MiklaszSt. Louis Post-Dispatch, 101 ESPN RadioSTLArrietaKershawGreinkeColeScherzer
Mel AntonenSI.comWASGreinkeArrietaKershawColeLackey
Jerry CrasnickESPN.comWAS*ArrietaGreinkeKershawScherzerBumgarner