Dallas Keuchel becomes 1st Astros’ pitcher to win AL Cy Young

Dallas Keuchel is the first Houston pitcher to win the award since the Astros moved to the American League in 2013. There were two Astros winners during their 51 seasons in the National League: Mike Scott in 1986 and Roger Clemens in 2004.

It was the second runner-up finish for Price, the 2012 winner with the Tampa Bay Rays who also placed second in 2010 to the Seattle Mariners’ Felix Hernandez.

Keuchel and Price were the only pitchers named on every ballot.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards seven points for first place, four points for second place, three points for third place, two votes for fourth place and one point for fifth place.

2015 AL Cy Young

Pitcher, Team1st2nd3rd4th5thPoints
Dallas Keuchel, Astros228186
David Price, Tigers/Blue Jays8211143
Sonny Gray, Athletics124382
Chris Sale, White Sox37730
Chris Archer, Rays10929
Wade Davis, Royals11510
Felix Hernandez, Mariners139
Collin McHugh, Astros135
Corey Kluber, Indians124
Marco Estrada, Blue Jays113
Andrew Miller, Yankees113
Shawn Tolleson, Rangers113
Carlos Carrasco, Indians12
Dellin Betances, Yankees11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. Note that in some cases (*), when a city does not have enough eligible voters, a voter from another city represents that chapter. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Dave GinsburgAssociated PressBALKeuchelPriceHernandezGrayMcHugh
Paul WhiteUSA TodayBALKeuchelGrayPriceArcherEstrada
Tim BrittonProvidence JournalBOSKeuchelPriceGraySaleKluber
Sean McAdamComcast SportsNet New EnglandBOSKeuchelPriceGrayArcherSale
Colleen KaneChicago TribuneCHIKeuchelPriceSaleGrayArcher
Daryl Van SchouwenChicago Sun-TimesCHIKeuchelPriceGraySaleArcher
Zack MeiselCleveland.comCLEPriceKeuchelSaleGrayArcher
Jim IngrahamNews-HeraldCLEKeuchelPriceGrayCarrascoSale
Lynn HenningDetroit NewsDETKeuchelPriceGrayDavisTolleson
Chris IottMLive.com/MLive Media GroupDETKeuchelPriceGrayArcherSale
David BarronHouston ChronicleHOUKeuchelPriceGrayHernandezMcHugh
Kristie RiekenThe Associated PressHOUKeuchelPriceGrayHernandezMcHugh
Jeff PassanYahoo SportsKCKeuchelPriceGrayArcherSale
Andy McCulloughThe Kansas City StarKCKeuchelPriceGraySaleArcher
Jeff FletcherOC RegisterLAKeuchelPriceGrayArcherKluber
Mark WhickerLA Daily NewsLAKeuchelPriceGrayMillerDavis
Patrick BorziHonoraryMINPriceKeuchelGrayMcHughDavis
Phil MillerMinneapolis Star TribuneMINKeuchelPriceGrayArcherDavis
Pete CalderaBergen RecordNYKeuchelPriceGrayArcherSale
Mark FeinsandNew York Daily NewsNYPriceKeuchelGrayArcherBetances
Joe StiglichComcast SportsNet Bay AreaOAKPriceKeuchelGraySaleArcher
Matt KawaharaThe Sacramento BeeOAKKeuchelPriceGraySaleArcher
Larry StoneSeattle TimesSEAPriceKeuchelGraySaleDavis
Bob DuttonTacoma News TribuneSEAKeuchelPriceGrayHernandezArcher
Martin FennellyTampa TribuneTBPriceKeuchelDavisTollesonMiller
Matt BakerTampa Bay TimesTBKeuchelPriceGraySaleArcher
Evan GrantMorning NewsTEXKeuchelPriceGrayArcherSale
Stefan C StevensonFort Worth Star-TelegramTEXKeuchelPriceGrayEstradaSale
Shi DavidiAt LargeTORPriceKeuchelSaleKluberArcher
Ken FidlinToronto SunTORPriceKeuchelGrayArcherDavis