A’s Bobby Crosby wins Rookie of the Year

For the second consecutive year, a shortstop was the American League winner of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award as Bobby Crosby of the Oakland Athletics was a near unanimous choice in balloting announced by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Crosby, 24, tabbed to succeed former AL Most Valuable Player Miguel Tejada at the position, batted only .239, the lowest average for any winner, but had 22 home runs and 64 RBI and placed first on 27 ballots and second on the remaining one of those cast by two writers in each league city to score 138 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system.

The other first-place vote went to Chicago White Sox relief pitcher Shingo Takatsu (6-4, 19 SV, 2.31 ERA), who was also listed second on 11 ballots and third on six to score 44 points. The third-place finisher was Baltimore Orioles pitcher Daniel Cabrera (12-8, 5.00 ERA). In all, 10 players gained mention.

Crosby was the sixth Athletics player honored and the second shortstop, joining 1988 winner Walt Weiss. Other A’s winners were Philadelphia’s Harry Byrd and Oakland’s Jose Canseco, Mark McGwire and Ben Grieve.

The vote:

2004 AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

BOBBY CROSBYOakland Athletics271138
SHINGO TAKATSUChicago White Sox111644
DANIEL CABRERABaltimore Orioles7829
ZACK GREINKEKansas City Royals4416
ALEXIS RIOSToronto Blue Jays3312
DAVID DeJESUSKansas City Royals136
ROSS GLOADChicago White Sox114
JOHN BUCKKansas City Royals11
DAVID BUSHToronto Blue Jays11
NATE ROBERTSONDetroit Tigers11