Red Sox’ Dustin Pedroia wins AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Boston Red Sox second baseman Dustin Pedroia was an overwhelming choice as the American League winner of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award in voting by the BBWAA.

Pedroia, 24, was listed first on 24 of the 28 ballots submitted by two writers in each league city and second on the other four to total 132 points, based on the 5-3-1 tabulation system. He was the only player on every ballot. Pedroia’s .317 batting average was the highest among AL rookies. He also led first-year players in the league in runs (86) and doubles (39) and was second in total bases (230) and on-base percentage (.380) for a Boston club that went on to win its second World Series in four seasons. Voting is conducted prior to the start of post-season play.

Tampa Bay Devil Rays outfielder Delmon Young, the AL rookie leader in RBI (93), hits (186), total bases (263) and outfield assists (16), had three first-place votes and finished second in the balloting with 56 points. The other first-place vote went to Kansas City Royals pitcher Brian Bannister (12-9, 3.87 ERA), who ranked third overall with 36 points. In all, eight players gained mention.

Pedroia became the sixth Red Sox player honored and the first since Nomar Garciaparra in 1997. Other Boston winners were Walt Dropo in 1950, Don Schwall in 1961, Carlton Fisk in 1972 and Fred Lynn in 1975. Pedroia is also only the fourth second baseman to win in the AL, joining the Minnesota Twins’ Rod Carew (1967) and Chuck Knoblauch (1991) and the Detroit Tigers’ Lou Whitaker (1978). Knoblauch also won the award while playing for a team that went on to win the World Series.

The vote:

2007 AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Dustin PedroiaBoston Red Sox244132
Delmon YoungTampa Bay Devil Rays312556
Brian BannisterKansas City Royals18736
Daisuke MatsuzakaBoston Red Sox2612
Reggie WillitsLos Angeles Angels of Anaheim2511
Hideki OkajimaBoston Red Sox33
Josh FieldsChicago White Sox11
Joakim SoriaKansas City Royals11