Joe Maddon wins 2015 NL Manager of the Year, his 3rd honor

This is the third Manager of the Year Award overall for Joe Maddon, who won in the American League with the Tampa Bay Rays in 2008 and 2011. He is the seventh manager to have the won the award in both leagues, joining Bobby Cox (1985 with the Toronto Blue Jays and 1991, 2004 and 2005 with the Atlanta Braves), Tony La Russa (1983 with the Chicago White Sox, 1988 and 1992 with the Oakland Athletics and 2002 with the St. Louis Cardinals), Jim Leyland (1990 and 1992 with the Pittsburgh Pirates and 2006 with the Detroit Tigers), Lou Piniella (1995 and 2001 with the Seattle Mariners and 2008 with the Cubs), Davey Johnson (1997 with the Baltimore Orioles and 2012 with the Washington Nationals) and Bob Melvin (2007 with the Arizona Diamondbacks and 2012 with the A’s).

Maddon is the seventh manager to have won the award three or more times. La Russa and Cox share the record with four victories overall. Maddon joins as three-time winners Leyland, Piniella, Dusty Baker (with the San Francisco Giants in 1993, 1997 and 2000) and Buck Showalter (with the New York Yankees in 1994, the Texas Rangers in 2004 and the Baltimore Orioles in 2014).

It marked the fourth time a Cubs manager has been honored. The others were Piniella, Jim Frey in 1984 and Don Zimmer in 1989.

Maddon was the only manager named on every ballot.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2015 NL Manager of the Year

Manager, TeamFirstSecondThirdPoints
Joe Maddon, Cubs18111124
Mike Matheny, Cardinals912687
Terry Collins, Mets371349
Clint Hurdle, Pirates88
Bruce Bochy, Giants11
Don Mattingly, Dodgers11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. Note that in some cases (*), when a city does not have enough eligible voters, a voter from another city represents that chapter. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Guy CurtrightThe Sports XchangeATLMaddonMathenyCollins
Charles OdumThe Associated PressATLMaddonCollinsMatheny
Robert NightengaleUSA TODAYAZMathenyMaddonCollins
Scott BordowArizona RepublicAZCollinsMaddonMatheny
Katsushi NagaoKyodo NewsCHIMaddonMathenyCollins
Fred MitchellChicago TribuneCHIMaddonMathenyCollins
Mark SchmetzerReds ReportCINCollinsMaddonMatheny
Paul DaughertyCincinnati EnquirerCINMaddonCollinsHurdle
Nick GrokeThe Denver PostCOLMaddonMathenyHurdle
Jonah KeriGrantlandCOLMathenyMaddonHurdle
Molly KnightAt LargeLAMaddonMathenyHurdle
Hideki OkudaSports Nippon NewspaperLAMaddonMathenyCollins
Tom D'AngeloPalm Beach PostMIAMaddonCollinsMatheny
Octavio SequeraESPN Deportes MiamiMIAMathenyMaddonCollins
Tom HaudricourtMilwaukee Journal SentinelMILMathenyMaddonCollins
Tom VerducciSI.comMIL*MaddonCollinsMatheny
Matthew EhaltThe Record (N.J.)NYCollinsMathenyMaddon
Ken DavidoffNew York PostNYMaddonMathenyCollins
Jack McCafferyDelaware County Daily TimesPHIMaddonMathenyMattingly
Jake KaplanThe Philadelphia InquirerPHIMathenyMaddonCollins
Stephen NesbittPittsburgh Post-GazettePITMathenyMaddonHurdle
Bill WestPittsburgh Tribune-ReviewPITMathenyMaddonHurdle
Jay ParisAt LargeSDMaddenCollinsHurdle
Chris JenkinsSan Diego Union-TribuneSDMaddonCollinsHurdle
Daniel BrownSan Jose Mercury NewsSFMathenyMaddonCollins
Scott OstlerSan Francisco ChronicleSFMaddonMathenyBochy
R.B. FallstromAssociated PressSTLMaddonMathenyCollins
Joe OstermeierBelleville News-DemocratSTLMathenyMaddonCollins
Tom SchadThe Washington TimesWASMaddonMathenyCollins
Chase HughesCSN Mid-AtlanticWASMaddonCollinsMatheny