Rangers’ Banister wins AL Manager of the Year in debut season

This election marked the first time the American League award went to someone who was in his first full season as a manager and the fifth time overall. The other four first-year winners were in the National League: Hal Lanier with the Houston Astros in 1986, Dusty Baker with the San Francisco Giants in 1993, Joe Girardi with the Florida Marlins in 2006 and Matt Williams with the Washington Nationals in 2014.

Banister was the third Rangers manager honored. The others were Johnny Oates, who was tied with the New York Yankees’ Joe Torre in 1996, and Buck Showalter in 2004.

No manager was named to every ballot.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2015 AL Manager of the Year

Manager, TeamFirstSecondThirdPoints
Jeff Banister, Rangers1783112
A.J. Hinch, Astros813382
Paul Molitor, Twins231433
John Gibbons, Blue Jays15222
Joe Girardi, Yankees2212
Ned Yost, Royals158
Mike Scioscia, Angels11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. Note that in some cases (*), when a city does not have enough eligible voters, a voter from another city represents that chapter. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Jerry CrasnickESPN.comBALBanisterHinchMolitor
Mel AntonenSI.comBALGirardiHinchMolitor
Gordon EdesESPN.comBOSHinchBanisterYost
Scott LauberBoston HeraldBOSHinchBanisterMolitor
Bruce LevineCBSChicago.comCHIGirardiMolitorBanister
Doug PadillaESPN.comCHIBanisterGibbonsMolitor
Ryan LewisAkron Beacon JournalCLEBanisterHinchMolitor
Dennis ManoloffThe (Cleveland) Plain DealerCLEBanisterGibbonsGirardi
Tom GageAt largeDETBanisterHinchYost
James SchmehlMLive Media GroupDETBanisterGibbonsHinch
David BarronHouston ChronicleHOUHinchBanisterMolitor
Evan DrellichHouston ChronicleHOUHinchBanisterMolitor
Andy McCulloughThe Kansas City StarKCBanisterYostMolitor
David BrownCBS SportsKCMolitorBanisterYost
Jill Painter LopezFox Sports WestLABanisterHinchScioscia
Greg BeachamAssociated PressLABanisterHinchGibbons
Patrick ReusseMinneapolis Star TribuneMINBanisterHinchMolitor
Dave CampbellAssociated PressMINBanisterGibbonsMolitor
Chad JenningsThe Journal NewsNYHinchBanisterMolitor
Erik BolandNewsdayNYMolitorBanisterHinch
Steve KronerSan Francisco ChronicleOAKBanisterHinchGirardi
Tim KawakamiSan Jose Mercury NewsOAKHinchMolitorBanister
Jim CapleESPN.comSEABanisterMolitorHinch
Nobuyuki KobayashiDaily SportsSEAHinchBanisterGibbons
Tom JonesTampa Bay TimesTBBanisterHinchMolitor
Dick ScanlonLakeland LedgerTBBanisterHinchMolitor
Kevin SherringtonDallas Morning NewsTEXBanisterHinchYost
Gil LeBretonFort Worth Star-TelegramTEXBanisterHinchMolitor
Robert MacLeodGlobe and MailTORGibbonsHinchYost
Mike RutseyToronto SunTORHinchGibbonsBanister