Angels’ two-way star Shohei Ohtani wins AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Courtesy Angels

Shohei Ohtani is the third Angels player to win the American League Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award. The others were Tim Salmon in 1993 and Mike Trout in 2012.

Ohtani pitched in 10 games and was a designated hitter in 82 games. The only other full-time DH to win the award was the Royals’ Bob Hamelin in 1994.

Ohtani is the fourth Japanese-born player honored, and the third in the AL along with Kazuhiro Sasaki in 2000 and Ichiro Suzuki in 2001, both with the Mariners. The NL winner from Japan was Dodgers pitcher Hideo Nomo in 1995.

It marked the sixth time a player on the Yankees, who have had nine winners, finished second. Other Yankees runners-up were Whitey Ford in 1950, Kevin Maas in 1990, Hideki Matsui in 2003, Robinson Cano in 2005 and Gary Sanchez in 2016.

No player was listed on every ballot.

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers in each league city. They are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2018 AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Player, Team1st2nd3rdPoints
Shohei Ohtani, Angels254137
Miguel Andújar, Yankees520489
Gleyber Torres, Yankees31625
Joey Wendle, Rays3817
Daniel Palka, White Sox11
Ryan Yarbrough, Rays11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

NameAffiliation Chapter1st2nd3rd
Steve MelewskiMASNSports.comBALOhtaniAndújarTorres
Gabe LacquesUSA TodayBALOhtaniAndújarWendle
Sean McAdamBoston Sports JournalBOSOhtaniAndújarWendle
Evan DrellichNBC Sports BostonBOSOhtaniAndújarWendle
Steve GreenbergChicago Sun-TimesCHIOhtaniAndújarTorres
Teddy GreensteinChicago TribuneCHIOhtaniAndújarPalka
Joe Nogacleveland.comCLEOhtaniAndújarWendle
Chris AssenheimerThe Chronicle-TelegramCLEOhtaniAndújarTorres
Lynn HenningDetroit NewsDETOhtaniTorresAndújar
Noah TristerThe Associated PressDETOhtaniWendleTorres
Chandler RomeHouston ChronicleHOUOhtaniAndújarWendle
David BarronHouston ChronicleHOUOhtaniAndújarTorres
Joe PosnanskiMLB.comKCOhtaniTorresAndújar
Jeff PassanYahoo SportsKCOhtaniAndújarWendle
Jill Painter LopezFox Sports WestLAOhtaniAndújarTorres
Tomohiko YasuokaJiji PressLAOhtaniAndújarTorres
Rhett BollingerMLB.comMINOhtaniAndújarTorres
Dan HayesThe Athletic MinnesotaMINOhtaniWendleAndújar
Coley HarveyESPN.comNYAndújarOhtaniTorres
Joel ShermanNew York PostNYOhtaniAndújarTorres
Martin GallegosSan Jose Mercury NewsOAKOhtaniAndújarTorres
Julian McWilliamsThe AthleticOAKAndújarOhtaniTorres
Tim BoothThe Associated PressSEAOhtaniTorresAndújar
Corey BrockThe AthleticSEAOhtaniAndújarWendle
Dick ScanlonLakeland LedgerTBAndújarWendleYarbrough
Juan ToribioThe AthleticTBAndújarOhtaniWendle
Stephen HawkinsAssociated PressTEXAndújarOhtaniTorres
Evan GrantDallas Morning NewsTEXOhtaniAndújarTorres
Kaitlyn McGrathThe Athletic TorontoTOROhtaniAndújarTorres
Scott MitchellTSNTOROhtaniAndújarTorres