Braves outfielder Ronald Acuña Jr. wins NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Courtesy Atlanta Braves

Ronald Acuña Jr. has been named National League Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year, marking the eighth time a Braves player has been honored. Previous winners were Alvin Dark in 1948, Sam Jethroe in 1950, Earl Williams in 1971, Bob Horner in 1978, David Justice in 1990, Rafael Furcal in 2000 and Craig Kimbrel in 2011.

Acuña is the eighth left fielder to win the NL award. The others were the Reds’ Frank Robinson in 1956, the Cubs’ Billy Williams in 1961, the Giants’ Gary Matthews in 1973, the Cardinals’ Vince Coleman in 1985, the Dodgers’ Todd Hollandsworth in 1996, the Pirates’ Jason Bay in 2004 and the Marlins’ Chris Coghlan in 2009. There have been six left fielders who won in the AL.

Acuña is the third native Venezuelan to be named Rookie of the Year, and the first in the NL. The two AL winners were Luis Aparicio in 1956 and Ozzie Guillen in 1985, both shortstops for the White Sox.

Acuña was the only player named on every ballot.

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers in each league city. They are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2018 NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Ronald Acuña, Jr., Braves273144
Juan Soto, Nationals226189
Walker Buehler, Dodgers112028
Brian Anderson, Marlins44
Jack Flaherty, Cardinals22
Harrison Bader, Cardinals11
Yoshihisa Hirano, Diamondbacks11
Jeff McNeil, Mets11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Matthew LeachMLB.comATLAcuñaSotoBuehler
JJ CooperBaseball AmericaATLAcuñaSotoBuehler
David VennMLB.comAZAcuñaSotoBuehler
Jesse SanchezMLB.comAZAcuñaSotoBuehler
Jesse RogersESPNCHISotoAcuñaBuehler
Patrick MooneyThe AthleticCHIAcuñaSotoBuehler
Mark SchmetzerReds ReportCINAcuñaSotoAnderson
Hal McCoyDayton Daily NewsCINAcuñaSotoAnderson
Nick GrokeThe AthleticCOLAcuñaSotoBuehler
Pat GrahamAssociated PressCOLAcuñaSotoBuehler
Mikako NiwaSankei SportsLABuehlerAcuñaHirano
Ken GurnickMLB.comLAAcuñaBuehlerSoto
Marcos E. HernandezAFPMIAAcuñaSotoAnderson
Jorge MorejonESPNDeportes.comMIAAcuñaSotoAnderson
Adam McCalvyMLB.comMILAcuñaSotoBuehler
Tom HaudricourtMilwaukee Journal SentinelMILAcuñaSotoBuehler
Tim HealeyNewsdayNYAcuñaSotoBader
Tom VerducciSI.comNYAcuñaSotoBuehler
Mike McGarryPress of Atlantic CityPHIAcuñaSotoBuehler
Jack McCafferyDelaware County Daily TimesPHIAcuñaSotoMcNeil
Alan SaundersAt LargePITAcuñaSotoBuehler
Stephen J. NesbittPittsburgh Post-GazettePITAcuñaSotoBuehler
Bryce MillerSan Diego Union-TribuneSDAcuñaSotoBuehler
Jeff SandersSan Diego Union-TribuneSDAcuñaSotoBuehler
Kerry CrowleySan Jose Mercury NewsSFAcuñaSotoBuehler
Eno SarrisThe AthleticSFAcuñaSotoBuehler
Ben FredericksonSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTLAcuñaSotoFlaherty
Rob RainsSTLSportsPage.comSTLAcuñaSotoFlaherty
Todd DybasThe Sports CapitolWASSotoAcuñaBuehler
Tim KurkjianESPNWASAcuñaSotoBuehler