Guardians’ Terry Francona wins Manager of the Year for the third time

Courtesy Cleveland Guardians

Terry Francona of the Cleveland Guardians was named AL Manager of the Year, becoming the ninth manager to win this award three or more times.

He also won with Cleveland in 2013 and 2016. Bobby Cox and Tony La Russa share the record with four victories apiece. Cox won in the AL with the Blue Jays in 1985 and in the NL with the Braves in 1991, 2004 and 2005. La Russa won in the AL with the White Sox in 1983, with the A’s in 1988 and 1992 and in the NL with the Cardinals in 2002.

Other three-time winners were Dusty Baker in the NL with the Giants in 1993, 1997 and 2000; Buck Showalter in the AL with the Yankees in 1994, the Rangers in 2004 and the Orioles in 2014; Jim Leyland in the NL with the Pirates in 1990 and 1992 and in the AL with the Tigers in 2006; Joe Maddon in the AL with the Rays in 2008 and 2011 and in the NL with the Cubs in 2015, Lou Piniella in the AL with the Mariners in 1995 and 2001 and in the NL with the Cubs in 2008 and Bob Melvin with the Athletics in 2012 and 2018 and with the Diamondbacks in 2007.

This election marked the fourth time a Cleveland manager won. Eric Wedge was the winner in 2007.

No manager was named on every ballot.

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers representing each league city. They are tabulated on a system that awards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2022 AL Manager of the Year

Terry Francona, Guardians179112
Brandon Hyde, Orioles99779
Scott Servais, Mariners181443
Dusty Baker, Astros33731
Aaron Boone, Yankees114
Kevin Cash, Rays11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Roch KubatkoMASNsports.comBALHydeFranconaServais
Peter SchmuckBaltimoreBaseball.comBALHydeBakerServais
Steve HewittBoston HeraldBOSHydeFranconaServais
Peter AbrahamBoston GlobeBOSFranconaHydeBaker
Vinnie DuberCHGOCHIFranconaHydeServais
Bruce LevineCBS Sports.comCHIFranconaHydeServais
Jim IngrahamElyria Chronicle-TelegramCLEFranconaServaisHyde
Chris AssenheimerThe Chronicle-TelegramCLEFranconaServaisCash
Evan PetzoldDetroit Free PressDETFranconaServaisHyde
Cody StavenhagenThe AthleticDETFranconaHydeServais
Brian McTaggartMLB.comHOUHydeFranconaBaker
Richard JusticeTexas MonthlyHOUFranconaServaisHyde
Pete GrathoffKansas City StarKCHydeFranconaServais
Jeff PassanESPNKCFranconaServaisHyde
Hiroyuki MinegishiJiji PressLABakerServaisBoone
Akiyuki ShiraishiKyodo NewsLABakerBooneServais
Megan RyanMinneapolis Star TribuneMINFranconaServaisHyde
John ShipleySt. Paul Pioneer PressMINFranconaBakerServais
David LennonNew York NewsdayNYFranconaHydeBaker
Bob KlapischNewark Star-Ledger / NJ.comNYFranconaHydeBaker
Janie McCauleyThe Associated PressOAKServaisFranconaBaker
Joe StiglichHonoraryOAKFranconaHydeServais
Masa NiwaSankei SportsSEAFranconaHydeServais
Maury BrownForbesSEABakerServaisHyde
Dick ScanlonLakeland LedgerTBHydeFranconaBaker
John RomanoTampa Bay TimesTBFranconaHydeBaker
Stephen HawkinsAssociated PressTEXHydeFranconaServais
Kevin SherringtonDallas Morning NewsTEXHydeFranconaServais
Kaitlyn McGrathThe AthleticTORHydeFranconaServais
Ian HarrisonAssociated PressTORFranconaBakerHyde