Braves outfielder Michael Harris II wins battle of teammates for NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Courtesy Kevin D. Liles/Atlanta Braves

Braves outfielder Michael Harris II outpolled his teammate, pitcher Spencer Strider, to win the 2022 National League Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award.

This marks the ninth time a Braves player has been honored. Previous winners were Alvin Dark in 1948, Sam Jethroe in 1950, Earl Williams in 1971, Bob Horner in 1978, David Justice in 1990, Rafael Furcal in 2000, Craig Kimbrel in 2011 and Ronald Acuna Jr. in 2018.

It is the fourth time that teammates finished 1-2 in National League Rookie voting and the first time since 2011 when the teammates were also from Atlanta: pitcher Craig Kimbrel, the winner, and first baseman Freddie Freeman, the runner-up. The other years were 1957 with Philadelphia Phillies pitcher Jack Sanford and first baseman Ed Bouchee and 1989 with Chicago Cubs outfielders Jerome Walton and Dwight Smith. It has occurred four times in American League Rookie voting.

Harris, the only player named on all the ballots this year, is the ninth NL center fielder honored and the first since Bryce Harper, who played the majority of his games in 2012 at that position. Other winning center fielders were Walton in 1989, Andre Dawson in 1977, Bake McBride in 1974, Bill Virdon in 1955, Wally Moon in 1954, Willie Mays in 1951 and Jethroe in 1950. There have been eight center fielders who won in the AL.

Center fielders won the award in both leagues in the same year for only the second time. The previous year was 2012 with Harper in the NL and Mike Trout in the AL.

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers representing each league city. They are tabulated on a system that awards five points for first place, three points for second place, one point for third place.

2022 NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Michael Harris II, Braves228134
Spencer Strider, Braves821103
Brendan Donovan, Cardinals2222
Jake McCarthy, Diamondbacks44
Alexis Diaz, Reds13
Nick Lodolo, Reds22
Oneil Cruz, Pirates22

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Jason FosterThe Sporting NewsATLHarris IIStriderDonovan
Paul NewberryThe Associated PressATLHarris IIStriderDonovan
Meg RowleyFanGraphsAZHarris IIStriderDonovan
Zach BuchananThe AthleticAZStriderHarris IIDonovan
Gordon WittenmyerNBC Sports ChicagoCHIHarris IIStriderDonovan
Eugene McIntoshThe Bigs MediaCHIHarris IIStriderDonovan
Matt SnyderCBS SportsCINHarris IIStriderDonovan
Dan SzymborskiFanGraphsCINStriderHarris IIDonovan
Manny RandhawaMLB.comCOLHarris IIStriderMcCarthy
Kevin HenryFanSidedCOLHarris IIStriderDonovan
Jim AlexanderSouthern California News GroupLAHarris IIDiazCruz
Alden GonzalezESPNLAHarris IIStriderDonovan
Jon HeymanMLB NetworkMIAStriderHarris IIDonovan
Mari MontesEl ExtrabaseMIAHarris IIStriderCruz
Andrew WagnerForbes SportsMILHarris IIStriderDonovan
Drew OlsoniHeart Media MilwaukeeMILStriderHarris IILodolo
Deesha ThosarFOX SportsNYHarris IIStriderDonovan
Will SammonThe AthleticNYHarris IIStriderMcCarthy
Keith LawThe AthleticPHIStriderHarris IIMcCarthy
Corey SeidmanNBC Sports PhiladelphiaPHIStriderHarris IIDonovan
Justice delos SantosMLB.comPITHarris IIStriderDonovan
Jason MackeyPittsburgh Post-GazettePITStriderHarris IIDonovan
Kyle GlaserBaseball AmericaSDHarris IIStriderDonovan
John MaffeiUnion-TribuneSDHarris IIStriderDonovan
Maria GuardadoMLB.comSFHarris IIStriderDonovan
Evan WebeckBay Area News GroupSFHarris IIStriderMcCarthy
Benjamin HochmanSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTLHarris IIStriderDonovan
Jeff JonesBelleville News-DemocratSTLStriderHarris IIDonovan
Brittany GhiroliThe AthleticWASHarris IIStriderLodolo
Joe TrezzaMLB.comWASHarris IIStriderDonovan