Mariners outfielder Julio Rodriguez wins AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Courtesy Ben VanHouten/Seattle Mariners

Mariners outfielder Julio Rodriguez took 29 of 30 first-place votes on his way to winning the 2022 American League Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year.

Rodriguez, who was the only player to be named on every ballot, is the eighth center fielder to win the American League award, the most recent was another Seattle winner, Kyle Lewis, in 2020. The others were Mike Trout in 2012, Carlos Beltran in 1999, Fred Lynn in 1975, Tommie Agee in 1966, Bob Allison in 1959 and Albie Pearson in 1958. There have been eight center fielders who won in the National League.

This marks the fifth time a Seattle player has been honored. In addition to Lewis, other Mariners winners were Alvin Davis in 1984, Kazuhiro Sasaki in 2000 and Ichiro Suzuki in 2001.

Rodriguez is the fourth Dominican-born player honored in the AL. The others were Alfredo Griffin in 1979 (co-winner with John Castino), Angel Berroa in 2003 and Neftali Feliz in 2010. NL winners born in the Dominican Republic: Raul Mondesi (1994), Rafael Furcal (2000), Albert Pujols (2001) and Hanley Ramirez (2006).

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers representing each league city. They are tabulated on a system that awards five points for first place, three points for second place, one point for third place.

2022 AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Julio Rodriguez, Mariners291148
Adley Rutschman, Orioles118968
Steven Kwan, Guardians101444
Bobby Witt Jr., Royals147
Jeremy Peña, Astros22
George Kirby, Mariners11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Dave GinsburgAssociated PressBALRodriguezRutschmanWitt Jr.
Rich DubroffBaltimoreBaseball.comBALRodriguezRutschmanKwan
David LaurilaFanGraphsBOSRodriguezRutschmanKwan
Rob BradfordWEEI.comBOSRodriguezKwanRutschman
Scot GregorDaily HeraldCHIRodriguezRutschmanKwan
Scott MerkinMLB.comCHIRodriguezKwanRutschman
Tom WithersAssociated PressCLERodriguezKwanWitt Jr.
Anthony CastrovinceMLB.comCLERodriguezRutschmanKwan
Jason BeckMLB.comDETRodriguezRutschmanKwan
Evan WoodberyMLive Media GroupDETRodriguezKwanRutschman
Alyson FooterMLB.comHOURodriguezRutschmanPeña
Kristie RiekenThe Associated PressHOURodriguezRutschmanKirby
David BrownBally SportsKCRodriguezKwanRutschman
Vahe GregorianThe Kansas City StarKCRodriguezWitt Jr.Peña
Nobuhiro SaitoNikkan Sports NewsLARodriguezKwanRutschman
Jeff FletcherOC RegisterLARodriguezRutschmanKwan
Dave CampbellAssociated PressMINRodriguezKwanRutschman
Dan HayesThe AthleticMINRodriguezRutschmanKwan
Pete CalderaBergen RecordNYRodriguezKwanRutschman
Erik BolandNew York NewsdayNYRodriguezRutschmanKwan
Steve KronerSan Francisco ChronicleOAKRodriguezRutschmanKwan
Melissa LockardThe AthleticOAKRodriguezRutschmanWitt Jr.
Matt CalkinsSeattle TimesSEARodriguezRutschmanKwan
Tim BoothThe Associated PressSEARodriguezRutschmanKwan
Adam BerryMLB.comTBRodriguezRutschmanKwan
Marc TopkinTampa Bay TimesTBRodriguezKwanRutschman
Evan GrantDallas Morning NewsTEXRodriguezRutschmanKwan
Jaeho KimMK SportsTEXRodriguezRutschmanKwan
Ben Nicholson-SmithSportsnet.caTORRutschmanRodriguezWitt Jr.
Scott MitchellTSNTORRodriguezKwanRutschman