Skip Schumaker wins NL Manager of the Year after 1st year leading the Marlins

Courtesy Jasen Vinlove/Miami Marlins

Marlins first-year manager Skip Schumaker won the 2023 NL Manager of the Year Award.

This election marks the seventh time in the NL and ninth time overall that the award went to someone who was in his first full season as a major league manager. The other first-year NL winners were the Astros’ Hal Lanier (1986), the Giants’ Dusty Baker (1993), the Marlins’ Joe Girardi (2006), the Nationals’ Matt Williams (2014), the Dodgers’ Dave Roberts (2016) and the Diamondbacks’ Torey Lovullo (2017). There have been two first-year winners in the American League, the Rangers’ Jeff Banister (2015) and the Twins’ Rocco Baldelli (2019). 

Schumaker is the third Marlins manager honored, joining Jack McKeon (2003) and Don Mattingly (2020).

Craig Counsell’s second-place finish was his fourth, which tied him with Tony La Russa for the most in NL voting. Counsell, who has never won the award, also was the NL runner-up in 2018, 2019 and 2021. The record for most second-place finishes is five, shared by La Russa and Ron Gardenhire. La Russa, a four-time winner (1983, 1988 and 1992 in the AL, 2002 in the NL) placed second in the AL in 1990 and in the NL in 2000, 2004, 2005 and 2009. Gardenhire, who won the AL award in 2010, ran second in AL voting in 2003, 2004, 2006, 2008 and 2009. Art Howe, who did not win the award, was the runner-up in four consecutive AL elections (1999-2002).

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers representing each league city. They are tabulated on a system that awards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2023 NL Manager of the Year

Skip Schumaker, Marlins88872
Craig Counsell, Brewers57551
Brian Snitker, Braves82248
Torey Lovullo, Diamondbacks45742
Dave Roberts, Dodgers45641
David Bell, Reds12213
David Ross, Cubs13

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Josh NorrisBaseball AmericaATL Schumaker Lovullo Snitker
Paul NewberryThe Associated PressATL Snitker Ross Schumaker
Jack MagruderAt LargeAZ Schumaker Counsell Roberts
David VennMLB.comAZ Lovullo Schumaker Roberts
Ryan HerreraCHGOCHI Counsell Roberts Lovullo
Andy MartínezMarquee Sports NetworkCHI Roberts Counsell Schumaker
Mark SchmetzerAt LargeCIN Bell Counsell Schumaker
Matt SnyderCBS SportsCIN Snitker Roberts Counsell
Jack EtkinAt LargeCOL Counsell Snitker Lovullo
Tracy RingolsbyInsideTheSeams.comCOL Snitker Roberts Counsell
Rowan KavnerFOX SportsLA Schumaker Roberts Counsell
Jim AlexanderSouthern California News GroupLA Roberts Snitker Schumaker
Santos A. PerezFreelance writer Associated PressMIA Schumaker Bell Lovullo
Paige LeckieMLB.comMIA Schumaker Lovullo Snitker
Adam McCalvyMLB.comMIL Counsell Schumaker Bell
Drew OlsoniHeart Media MilwaukeeMIL Counsell Lovullo Schumaker
Tim HealeyNewsdayNY Snitker Schumaker Roberts
Mike PumaNew York PostNY Snitker Roberts Schumaker
Corey SeidmanNBC Sports PhiladelphiaPHI Roberts Schumaker Counsell
Dani GelstonThe Associated PressPHI Counsell Lovullo Schumaker
Ron CookPittsburgh Post-GazettePIT Snitker Schumaker Roberts
Dejan KovacevicDK Pittsburgh SportsPIT Snitker Schumaker Lovullo
John MaffeiSan Diego Union-TribuneSD Roberts Lovullo Bell
Bryce MillerSan Diego Union-TribuneSD Lovullo Schumaker Roberts
Grant BrisbeeThe AthleticSF Schumaker Counsell Roberts
Steve KronerSan Francisco ChronicleSF Lovullo Schumaker Counsell
Benjamin HochmanSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTL Schumaker Counsell Lovullo
Ryan FaganThe Sporting NewsSTL Schumaker Bell Lovullo
Jessica CameratoMLB.comWAS Lovullo Counsell Schumaker
Joe TrezzaMLB.comWAS Snitker Counsell Lovullo