Diamondbacks’ Corbin Carroll sweeps vote to win Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Courtesy Kelsey Grant/Arizona Diamondbacks

Diamondbacks outfielder Corbin Carroll is the 14th player to win the NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award by a unanimous vote.

The others: Frank Robinson (1956), Orlando Cepeda (1958), Willie McCovey (1959), Vince Coleman (1985), Benito Santiago (1987), Mike Piazza (1993), Raul Mondesi (1994), Scott Rolen (1997) Albert Pujols (2001), Craig Kimbrel (2011), Kris Bryant (2015), Corey Seager (2016) and Cody Bellinger (2017).

Carroll, the only rookie to be listed on every ballot, is the first Diamondbacks player to win this
award. The previous highest finish for an Arizona player in the voting was by Wade Miley, who was the
runner-up to Bryce Harper in 2012.

This marks the fifth time that the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year winners are unanimous
choices in both leagues. (Gunnar Henderson was the AL winner this year.) The others were Athletics first baseman Mark McGwire and Padres catcher Benito Santiago in 1987, Angels right fielder Tim Salmon and Dodgers catcher Mike Piazza in 1993, Red Sox shortstop Nomar Garciaparra and Phillies third baseman Scott Rolen in 1997, and Yankees right fielder Aaron Judge and Dodgers first baseman Cody Bellinger in 2017.

Corbin Carroll, Diamondbacks30150
Kodai Senga, Mets22571
James Outman, Dodgers5520
Nolan Jones, Rockies21117
Matt McLain, Reds125
Spencer Steer, Reds44
Eury Perez, Marlins11
Elly De La Cruz, Reds11
Patrick Bailey, Giants11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

George HenryAssociated PressATLCarrollMcLainDe La Cruz
Matthew LeachMLB.comATLCarrollSengaJones
Zach BuchananAt LargeAZCarrollSengaJones
Jesse FriedmanPHNX SportsAZCarrollSengaJones
Tim StebbinsMLB.comCHICarrollSengaSteer
Sahadev SharmaThe AthleticCHICarrollOutmanSenga
Dan SzymborskiFanGraphsCINCarrollSengaMcLain
Jordan ShustermanFOXSports.comCINCarrollSengaPérez
Pat GrahamAssociated PressCOLCarrollSengaJones
Patrick LyonsDNVRCOLCarrollJonesSenga
Greg BeachamAssociated PressLACarrollSengaOutman
Eric StephenSB NationLACarrollOutmanJones
Daniel ÁlvarezEl ExtrabaseMIACarrollOutmanSenga
Jordan McPhersonMiami HeraldMIACarrollSengaSteer
Robert MurrayFanSidedMILCarrollSengaOutman
JR RadcliffeMilwaukee Journal SentinelMILCarrollSengaJones
Andrew TredinnickBergen RecordNYCarrollSengaOutman
Abbey MastraccoNew York Daily NewsNYCarrollSengaSteer
Mike McGarryPress of Atlantic CityPHICarrollSengaJones
Keith LawThe AthleticPHICarrollOutmanMcLain
Jonathan MayoMLB.comPITCarrollSengaJones
John PerrottoPittsburgh Baseball NowPITCarrollJonesSenga
Kyle GlaserBaseball AmericaSDCarrollSengaSteer
Jeff SandersSan Diego Union-Tribune.comSDCarrollOutmanSenga
Danny EmermanKNBR.comSFCarrollSengaBailey
Andrew BaggarlyThe AthleticSFCarrollSengaJones
Brenden SchaefferKMOVSTLCarrollSengaJones
Ben FredericksonSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTLCarrollSengaJones
Bobby BlancoMASNsports.comWASCarrollSengaOutman
Stephen WhynoThe Associated PressWASCarrollSengaOutman