Rays’ Wil Myers wins AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Tampa Bay right fielder Wil Myers, who was called up from the minor leagues June 18 and helped the Rays’ push to a wild-card postseason berth, was the American League winner of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award in balloting by the BBWAA that was announced on MLB Network.

Myers (.293, 13 HR, 53 RBI) was listed first on 23 of the 30 ballots submitted by two writers representing each league city, second on five ballots and third on one to score 131 points, based on a system that rewards five points for first place, three for second and one for third.

Shortstop Jose Iglesias (.303, 3 HR, 29 RBI), who divided the 2013 season between Boston and Detroit, finished second in the voting with five first-place votes and 80 points. Receiving one first-place vote apiece in the balloting were pitchers Chris Archer (9-7, 3.22 ERA) of the Rays and Dan Straily (10-8, 3.96 ERA) of the Oakland Athletics.

Myers, 22, led AL rookies in RBI, doubles (23), extra-base hits (36), on-base percentage (.354) and slugging (.478) and was tied for first in total bases (160). Myers became the third Tampa Bay player honored, joining Evan Longoria in 2008 and Jeremy Hellickson in 2011.

The voting (5-3-1 scoring system):

2013 AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Player, Club1st2nd3rdPoints
Wil Myers, Rays2351131
Jose Iglesias, Red Sox/Tigers517480
Chris Archer, Rays151535
Dan Straily, Athletics12415
J.B. Shuck, Angels114
Cody Allen, Indians22
Martin Perez, Rangers22
David Lough, Royals11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each team in the American League. Note that in some cases (*), when a city does not have enough eligible voters, a writer from another city will represent that chapter. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

Rich DubroffCSNBaltimore.comBALMyersArcherIglesisas
Roch KubatkoHonoraryBALMyersArcherIglesias
Michael SilvermanBoston HeraldBOSMyersIglesiasStraily
Peter AbrahamBoston GlobeBOSIglesiasMyersArcher
Bruce LevineESPNChicago.comCHIMyersIglesiasPerez
Dan HayesCSNChicago.comCHIMyersStrailyIglesias
Bud ShawCleveland Plain DealerCLEArcherStrailyMyers
Chris AssenheimerElyria Chronicle-TelegramCLEStrailyArcherAllen
John LoweDetroit Free PressDETMyersIglesiasPerez
Tony PaulDetroit NewsDETMyersIglesiasArcher
Ken DavidoffNew York PostHOU*MyersIglesiasLough
Nicholas CafardoBoston GlobeHOU*IglesiasMyersStraily
Nicole PoellKansas City StarKCMyersIglesiasArcher
Pete GrathoffKansas City StarKCMyersIglesiasArcher
Jeff MillerOrange County RegisterLAMyersIglesiasShuck
Joe HaakensonHonoraryLAMyersShuckArcher
Gregg WongHonoraryMINMyersArcherStraily
Phil MillerMinneapolis Star TribuneMINMyersArcherIglesias
Daniel BarbarisiWall St JournalNYIglesiasMyersArcher
Erik BolandNewsdayNYMyersIglesiasArcher
Matt KawaharaSacramento BeeOAKMyersIglesiasStraily
Steve KronerSan Francisco ChronicleOAKIglesiasMyersAllen
Masoyoshi NiwaSankei SportsSEAMyersIglesiasArcher
Todd DybasTacoma News TribuneSEAMyersIglesiasArcher
Marc TopkinTampa Bay TimesTBMyersIglesiasArcher
Roger MooneyTampa TribuneTBMyersIglesiasArcher
Drew DavisonFort Worth Star TelegramTEXMyersIglesiasArcher
Efrain RuizMeridianoTEXMyersIglesiasArcher
Larry MillsonCanadian PressTORMyersIglesiasArcher
Mike HarringtonBuffalo NewsTORIglesiasMyersArcher