Another Dodgers winner, Cody Bellinger takes Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Photo courtesy Los Angeles Dodgers.

Cody Bellinger became the 23rd player overall and the 13th in the National League to win the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year award by a unanimous vote. It marked the third consecutive year that the NL winner was unanimous, following Corey Seager last year and Kris Bryant in 2015, a record.

There had been back-to-back winners three times in the NL and once in the American League but never three in a row until now. It also marks the third time players from the same team were unanimous in consecutive seasons. The others were the Giants’ Orlando Cepeda in 1958 and Willie McCovey in 1959 and the Dodgers’ Mike Piazza in 1993 and Raul Mondesi in 1994.

Bellinger, whose father is former infielder Clay Bellinger, is the first son of a major league player to win the NL award. There have been three such winners in the AL: Tom Tresh, son of Mike, with the Yankees in 1962; Sandy Alomar Jr., son of Sandy Sr., with the Indians in 1990 and Ben Grieve, son of Tom, with the Athletics in 1998.

Bellinger is the seventh winner in the NL who played the majority of his games at first base. There have also been seven first-base winners in the AL.

This election marked the 18th time a Dodgers player has been honored, the most in the history of the award, twice as many as any other franchise.

Bellinger was the only player named on all ballots.

This was the fourth time that the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year winners were unanimous choices in both leagues, with Aaron Judge winning unanimously in the AL. The others were Athletics first baseman Mark McGwire and Padres catcher Benito Santiago in 1987, Angels right fielder Tim Salmon and Dodgers catcher Mike Piazza in 1993 and Red Sox shortstop Nomar Garciaparra and Phillies third baseman Scott Rolen in 1997.

Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third place.

2017 NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Player, Team1st2nd3rdPoints
Cody Bellinger, Dodgers30150
Paul DeJong, Cardinals151156
Josh Bell, Pirates10232
Rhys Hoskins, Phillies1912
German Marquez, Rockies2410
Manuel Margot, Padres125
Kyle Freeland, Rockies13
Luis Castillo, Reds11
Ian Happ, Cubs11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the National League. Note that in some cases (*), if there are not enough eligible voters in one chapter, a voter from another chapter will represent that city. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

J.J. CooperBaseball AmericaATLBellingerMarquezDeJong
Dave CameronFanGraphs*ATLBellingerDeJongCastillo
Bernie PleskoffFanRagSportsAZBellingerHoskinsDeJong
Jesse SanchezMLB.comAZBellingerMarquezMargot
Patrick MooneyNBC Sports ChicagoCHIBellingerBellDeJong
Bruce MilesDaily Herald, Arlington Heights, IllinoisCHIBellingerDeJongHapp
Joe KayThe Associated PressCINBellingerBellDeJong
John Faywcpo.comCINBellingerDeJongMarquez
Nick GrokeThe Denver PostCOLBellingerDeJongMarquez
Barney HutchinsonHonoraryCOLBellingerFreelandDeJong
Brian GoldenAntelope Valley PressLABellingerBellHoskins
Hirokazu HiguchiChunichi ShimbunLABellingerBellDeJong
Tim HealeySouth Florida Sun SentinelMIABellingerDeJongMarquez
Andre C. FernandezThe Miami HeraldMIABellingerDeJongHoskins
Joel ShermanNew York Post*MILBellingerBellDeJong
Keith LawESPN*MILBellingerMargotHoskins
Abbey MastraccoNJ Advance MediaNYBellingerDeJongBell
Matthew EhaltThe RecordNYBellingerDeJongHoskins
Meghan MontemurroThe News JournalPHIBellingerDeJongHoskins
Ryan LawrencePhillyVoice.comPHIBellingerDeJongHoskins
John PerrottoFanRag SportsPITBellingerDeJongBell
Ron CookPittsburgh Post-GazettePITBellingerBellDeJong
Kirk KenneySan Diego Union-TribuneSDBellingerBellDeJong
Jeff SandersSan Diego Union-TribuneSDBellingerDeJongMargot
Carl StewardBay Area News GroupSFBellingerBellHoskins
Eno SarrisFanGraphsSFBellingerDeJongHoskins
Benjamin HochmanThe St. Louis Post-DispatchSTLBellingerDeJongMárquez
Jose de Jesus OrtizSt. Louis Post-DispatchSTLBellingerBellDeJong
Mark ZuckermanMASNsports.comWASBellingerDeJongHoskins
William Lloyd LadsonMLB.comWASBellingerBellDeJong