Orioles’ Gunnar Henderson unanimously wins AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year

Courtesy Todd Olszewski/Baltimore Orioles

Gunnar Henderson is the 13th player to win the AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award by a unanimous vote and the first for the Orioles.

The other unanimous choices: Carlton Fisk (1972), Mark McGwire (1987), Sandy Alomar Jr. (1990), Tim Salmon (1993), Derek Jeter (1996), Nomar Garciaparra (1997), Evan Longoria (2008), Mike Trout (2012), Jose Abreu (2014), Aaron Judge (2017), Yordan Alvarez (2019) and Kyle Lewis (2020). There have been 14 unanimous winners in the National League, including 2023 winner Corbin Carroll.

This is the eighth time a member of the Orioles organization has been elected and the first in 34 years since Gregg Olson in 1989. Other winners from the franchise: Roy Sievers (1949 with the Browns, who moved from St. Louis to Baltimore and became the Orioles in 1954), Ron Hanson (1960), Curt Blefary (1965), Al Bumbry (1973), Eddie Murray (1977) and Cal Ripken Jr. (1982).

Henderson was the only player named on every ballot.

Ballots, submitted prior to postseason play, were cast by two writers representing each league city. They are tabulated on a system that awards five points for first place, three points for second place, one point for third place.

Gunnar Henderson, Orioles30150
Tanner Bibee, Guardians20767
Triston Casas, Red Sox6725
Josh Jung, Rangers3716
Yainer Diaz, Astros136
Masataka Yoshida, Red Sox33
Edouard Julien, Twins22
Anthony Volpe, Yankees11

Below is a breakdown of the 30 individual ballots, submitted by two writers representing each city in the American League. For more information on the voting, see our Voting FAQ.

NameAffiliation Chapter1st2nd3rd
Roch KubatkoMASNsports.comBALHendersonCasasBibee
Noah TristerThe Associated PressBALHendersonBibeeDiaz
Chris CotilloMassLiveBOSHendersonCasasBibee
Ian BrowneMLB.comBOSHendersonCasasJung
LaMond PopeChicago TribuneCHIHendersonBibeeCasas
Bruce LevineWSCR radioCHIHendersonBibeeYoshida
Mandy BellMLB.comCLEHendersonBibeeCasas
Christopher AssenheimerThe Chronicle-TelegramCLEHendersonJungBibee
Evan PetzoldDetroit Free PressDETHendersonBibeeJung
Cody StavenhagenThe AthleticDETHendersonBibeeJulien
Jesus LinaresPelota BravaHOUHendersonDiazBibee
Richard JusticeTexas MonthlyHOUHendersonCasasBibee
Dan HirschBaseball-Reference.comKCHendersonBibeeJulien
Jeff ZimmermanFanGraphsKCHendersonBibeeJung
Hiroyuki MinegishiJiji PressLAHendersonBibeeYoshida
Akiyuki ShiraishiKyodo NewsLAHendersonBibeeYoshida
Do-Hyoung ParkMLB.comMINHendersonBibeeCasas
Phil MillerMinneapolis Star TribuneMINHendersonBibeeDiaz
Gary PhillipsNew York Daily NewsNYHendersonBibeeCasas
Randy MillerNJ.com | Newark Star-LedgerNYHendersonBibeeJung
Janie McCauleyThe Associated PressOAKHendersonJungBibee
Melissa LockardThe AthleticOAKHendersonBibeeDiaz
Tim BoothAssociated PressSEAHendersonBibeeJung
Corey BrockAt-largeSEAHendersonBibeeCasas
Mark DidtlerAssociated Press FreelancerTBHendersonCasasVolpe
John RomanoTampa Bay TimesTBHendersonBibeeCasas
Shawn McFarlandThe Dallas Morning NewsTEXHendersonBibeeJung
Stephen HawkinsAssociated PressTEXHendersonJungBibee
Julia KreuzMLB.comTORHendersonBibeeCasas
Ben Nicholson-SmithSportsnetTORHendersonCasasJung